CARLYLE CITY COUCIL

Regular Meeting

Monday, January 8, 2018

The meeting of the Carlyle City Council was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Mayor Judy Smith on Monday, January 8, 2018 in the Case Halstead Maddux Community Room.

The following Aldermen were present: Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Don Perez, Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards and Eric Nordike.

City employees present were: JoAnn Hollenkamp, John Hodapp, Mark Pingsterhaus, Andy Brackett, Andy Wennerstrom, Chris Voss, Mike Meskil, City Attorney Joe Heiligenstein and City Clerk Sharon Hustedde.

Others present were: Mark Hodapp, Kelly Ross, Mike Bush (Ameren), Mike Essington, Kayla Voss, Deanne Perez-Meskil, Kaden Meskil, Henry Hollenkamp, Geoff Jones, Tim, Angeleen, Kylee and Tyler Wesselmann, Elisse and Shelby Cameron, Greg, Linda, Zane and Makenna Reckling and Neil Schaeffer.

The meeting opened the Pledge of Allegiance.

A motion was made by Alderman Kent Newkirk and seconded by Alderman Don Perez to approve the minutes of December 11, 2017 as presented. The motion was unanimously approved by roll call vote: Aye – Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Don Perez, Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike and Kent Newkirk. Nay – none.

There were no City Clerk reports.

A motion was made by Alderman Jason Edwards and seconded by Alderman Scott Diekemper to approve the Treasurer's Report. The motion was unanimously approved by roll call vote. Aye – Scott Diekemper, Don Perez, Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk and Brenda Johnson. Voting nay – none.

Alderman Brenda Johnson reported for the Library Board and things are going great. Chelsey is doing a fabulous job. The programs are good, and the numbers are up, and things are rolling along.

John Hodapp reported that they will be installing the Fairbanks muffler tomorrow. They have completed the leaf pickup.

Mayor Judy Smith said she wanted to commend everybody who had any part to do with the City Park light display this year. It was a fantastic display. It takes a lot of work to put it up and a lot of work to take it down. It was just beautiful. Judy stated she had received a lot of comments on how wonderful it was.

Under Public Comments, Geoff Jones, requesting the Council to take a second look at the parcel on Lake Road. The property up town he thinks is a good idea, and if the City is purchasing the property at 910 Franklin, he would like to see the money spent there.

A motion was made by Alderman Don Perez and seconded by Alderman Jeff Taylor to keep the City Council meetings the second and fourth Mondays at 7:00 p.m. at the Case Halstead Library for the year 2018. The motion was unanimously approved by roll call vote. Aye – Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper and Don Perez. Nay – none.

A presentation of Piper (Penguin in the Park) winners. Andy Brackett reported the visitors to the Park this year was a little over 12,000. Last year there was a little over 7,000 visitors. There were 750 Penguin entries and 7 winners awarded. There was a three-way tie for first place: Makenna Reckeling, Shelby Cameron and Kaden Meskil. The second-place winners were: Kylee Wesselmann, Angeleen Wesselmann, Tyler Wesselmann and Brinn Miliken. The seven children were presented with a gift bag.

A motion was made by Alderman Kent Newkirk and seconded by Alderman Jeff Taylor to appoint Jeremy Weh (Chairman) Jason Edwards and Scott Diekemper to the Park Committee. The motion was approved unanimously by roll call vote. Aye – Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Don Perez and Jeff Taylor. Nay – none.

A motion was made by Alderman Kent Newkirk and seconded by Alderman Jeremy Weh recommending Mike Meskil for permanent employment. The motion was approved by roll call vote. Aye – Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Jeff Taylor and Jeremy Weh. Don Perez abstained. Nay – none.

A motion was made by Alderman Don Perez and seconded by Alderman Jeff Taylor recommending Chris Voss for permanent employment. The motion was approved unanimously by roll call vote. Aye – Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Don Perez, Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh and Jason Edwards. Nay – none.

A motion was made by Kent Newkirk and seconded by Alderman Don Perez to approve the Ordinance – Repeal & Replace Chapter 22 Article IX of City Code (policy against discrimination harassment and sexual conduct). The motion was approved unanimously by roll call vote. Aye – Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Don Perez, Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards and Eric Nordike. Nay – none.

A motion was made by Alderman Jeff Taylor and seconded by Alderman Jeremy Weh to approve the Zoning Recommendation – Ordinance – Craig Petermeyer -Special Use Permit to have storage units built. The motion was approved unanimously by roll call vote. Aye – Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Don Perez, Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike and Kent Newkirk. Nay – none.

A motion was made by Alderman Jeff Taylor and seconded by Alderman Don Perez to approve the Zoning Recommendation – Subdivision Plat (Outside City Limits). The motion was approved unanimously by roll call vote. Aye – Scott Diekemper, Don Perez, Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk and Brenda Johnson. Nay – none.

A motion was made by Alderman Don Perez and seconded by Alderman Jeff Taylor to approve the FY'17 Water Audit. The motion was approved unanimously by roll call vote. Aye – Don Perez, Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson and Scott Diekemper.

At 7:20 p.m. a motion was made by Alderman Jeff Taylor and seconded by Alderman Scott Diekemper to go into Executive Session. The motion was approved unanimously by roll call vote. Aye – Jeff Taylor, Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper and Don Perez. Nay – none.

At 8:20 p.m. a motion was made by Alderman Jason Edwards and seconded by Alderman Jeremy Weh to go back into regular session. The motion was approved by roll call vote. Aye – Jeremy Weh, Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Don Perez and Jeff Taylor. Nay – none.

A motion was made by Alderman Don Perez and seconded by Alderman Jason Edwards to adjourn. The motion was unanimously approved by roll call vote. Aye – Jason Edwards, Eric Nordike, Kent Newkirk, Brenda Johnson, Scott Diekemper, Don Perez, Jeff Taylor and Jeremy Weh. Nay – none.

Meeting adjourned 8:23 p.m.

Mayor

Attest:

City Clerk